A Call To Arms…er…Legs.

I like randonneuring.  Note the use of the word “like”.  Not love.  Not obsessed with.  (yeah, I am talking to you.  You know who you are.)

What do I love in the world of long distance cycling?  I love adventure rides.  What on earth qualifies as an adventure ride, you ask?  Rides with no agenda but to have fun and do something memorable.  Mix in some Type II fun?  Sure, why not?  A ride that you might possibly regret in some way? Yeah – that’s it.  Something actually worthy of the overused word ‘epic’.

Eric says that epic does not mean stupid.  I am not sure I agree.

But anyway, the motivation to do these rides bubbles up from somewhere I’ve never been.  Not while awake, that is.  But I am a wimp.  There is no way I will do a bonafide  adventure ride alone.  That would be, in fact, stupid  (in the conventional sense of that word).

So I need soldiers to join my army.  I am looking for a date to do this ride.  The route:  http://www.bikeroutetoaster.com/Course.aspx?course=528071

Code name: The Desolation 220.

Bring the ability to carry lots of food and water, and lights with lots of run time.  And a backup for all that.  Bug spray.  Bear spray.  Several spare tubes too.

Anyone in the mid Atlantic burned out on rando game for this?  Might actually be good prep for your upcoming 1000K or 1200K, ya know.  Just sayin’.

About rothrockcyrcle

I am an endurance cyclist always looking for new ways to maximize fun and minimize BS.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Call To Arms…er…Legs.

  1. Nigel says:

    How many days are you planning to take to complete the route?

    • Nigel – probably only one long day. It’s only 220K, but the route is approximately 40% gravel, and that slows things down quite a bit. I’d expect it to feel more like a 300K. I’d project 14 to 16 hours of total time, or thereabouts.

      If there is an interest in a longer or shorter route, the plethora of nice rural paved roads and state forest gravel roads in this region makes almost any distance short of a 400K easy to ‘dial up’.

  2. Ride is on the 27th of July. Early morning start from an undisclosed location in Boalsburg.

Leave a Reply

