2014 Goals

It’s a little late to be formulating goals for 2014, but better late than never.  They are:

  1. Get fully healthy (I had a minor surgery on Jan. 13th and recovery is going well.  I might be able to get back on the bike pretty soon here…I hope. )
  2. Do another Fleche Velocio (last year was a lot of fun)
  3. Get a couple permanents approved  (scouting and designing routes is fun too)
  4. Finally get the RCoH up and running in some sort of low-key / trial form – even if its just a half dozen of us.
  5. Do at least a couple 200Ks, and at least one longer randonee (a 300K being most likely).
  6. Do one of those 200K on my upright bike.

Regarding the last one, I was asked if that was a spiritual exercise.  Heh. Well, sorta.  It’s mostly just to see if I can do it.  Or rather, to see how much I hate it when I do it (if I hate it).  I’ve actually spent a fair amount of time over the last couple months of 2013 getting my fit right  (and I finally found a saddle that truly works for me), and I want to see how far that progress can take me.  So, I guess you could say its intellectual curiosity.

About rothrockcyrcle

I am an endurance cyclist always looking for new ways to maximize fun and minimize BS.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 2014 Goals

  1. Bill says:

    I’m with you on a few of these. I’ve been having weirdness in my foot since last November that doesn’t want to go away. I’m hoping another month of limited running will fix it. I’ve been thinking about trying the Wildnerness 101, although this would require getting a mountain bike, along with mountain bike skills.

    Similar to your upright bike thing…someday this summer I plan on taking the time to do a long ride on my wife’s RANS Rocket. I’ve ridden it exactly once, a few laps around the neighborhood, and ever since I’ve been intrigued to see what real miles feel like on it.

  2. Bill,
    Good on ya for giving the Rocket a try. Although with very little time spent on it prior (recumbents use your muscles in a surprisingly different way), and with a Rocket being the recumbent performance equivalent of a mountain bike with the knobbies still mounted (more or less), you will probably find riding it a long distance an awful lot of work!

Leave a Reply

