HV to BV 200K

First 200K of the year. Happy Valley to Buffalo Valley.  2nd time I have done this perm.  Last time was last summer when I was fit and the days were warm.

On this day we had clear skies, but a headwind no matter which direction we rode, and a 30 deg. F. temperature rise.

I wanted to ride this permanent as a test of sorts.  A test to see if I could ride the Eastern PA Rando’s Fleche on April 9th without suffering inordinately.

While I got through this ride ok, my conclusion is that, while I probably could survive it, I typically need more than just survival to strive for.  The 200K was too difficult, and I certainly could not have kept going for another 100 miles after we stopped without suffering a decent amount.

I rode 3 days later, and it didn’t seem like I got any big fitness boost from the 200K.  One ride can only do so much, right?  When I told EK I was thinking of bagging the Fleche he said “ikillu…take that into consideration.”   Sheesh.  I never knew rando was so dangerous.
p1030343_zpsj3gadxzu

Hairy John

 

p1030347_zpswh7rawpy

Rebersburg

 

p1030349_zpstmlhihgr

Rt. 164

 

p1030351_zpsznqgeml1

RB Winter

 

p1030357_zpsciqlc94h

Climb up to Hairy Johns

 

p1030358_zpszpahggrb

Kellermobile at our beer and hamburger stop.

 

p1030361_zpsspusvqty

Bible Road? Don’t remember.

 

p1030363_zps8jp3miz9

2 miles from the finish as the sun set.

 

About rothrockcyrcle

I am an endurance cyclist always looking for new ways to maximize fun and minimize BS.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

